Weekly Fitness Update #12

It’s the 22nd next week, which is the deadline for my running goals! This is going to be exciting!

But FIRST! Here’s my results from last week:

Dec 9/10 – 7km
Dec 12 – 7km
Dec 13 – 3.5km @ 5’50” avg pace, 20:31

YUP. I totally didn’t run on the days I was supposed to run because life caught up with me!

I mentioned it last week, but the Monsieur was back only for a couple of days, so I wanted to spend a bit more time with him before he left for San Francisco for another business trip.

Then, an art project with my mom went wayyyyyyyyy longer than I anticipated on Saturday, so that was it!

But, I did manage to squeeze in a quick 3.5km on Sunday December 13th after rock climbing, so at least that. I even ran pretty fast!

Rock Climbing – Dec 13th

The monthly issue started on the 13th so having a harness on was clearly not the best idea ever.

Top Rope – I managed to get past the huge challenge on that 5.9 that’s been really bugging me! But, I was already quite tired when I got to it and I’m not that great with inclines, so I stopped 3/4 of the way up.

That specific route most likely won’t be there the next time, but I’m happy knowing that I managed to get past the most challenging part!

I tried going up a 5.10a that looked relatively friendly, but it was a lot harder than it looked! I also made the mistake of tackling this one right before the 5.9, so that’s what really wiped me out.

Otherwise, I went up the other routes pretty well! I’m looking forward to seeing what new routes are gonna be there next week.

Bouldering – Just no. I was way too tired and crampy.

Parkour – Dec 14th

Yeah, you read that right! I WENT PARKOURING!

After a long, long time, I finally went back to the Monkey Vault because I just had an itch to do some jumps and fly a bit.

Luckily, there was an Adult Class scheduled on Monday nights at 7pm that I managed to get on time even though I didn’t know about it. The owner, Dan, and Will, one of the coaches, still remembered me and were more than willing to put me through those drills.

It felt really good to be back at the gym and swinging around, so I may plan on more weekday sessions in the new year!

I’m quite sore today, but I do intend on running later tonight. Am I a glutton for punishment? Probably, but I’m going out every night after work, so I gotta get some mileage in!

Dec 15 – 5km @ 6’00” avg pace, 30:00
Dec 19 – 10km @6’15” avg pace, 1:02:30
Dec 22 – 7km @6’10” avg pace, 43:10

I’m pretty sure it’s a bit faster than what I was intending on doing, but we’ll see if I actually achieve this before reviewing if I reached my Fall goals!

Dec 20 – Rock Climbing

It’s the last day for my belay buddy to be in Canada! 😦

Top Rope – I think I’m going to focus more on 5.9s just to get my confidence back up and then maybe tackle a couple of 5.10a’s just to get the feel of them.

Little to no inclines. My shoulders are screaming at me right now.

Bouldering – Since I’m avoiding inclines, I might go and attempt some routes, but I’m not going to promise anything. I’ll be surprised if I conquer more than one V1!

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

