Weekly Fitness Update #11

 

I’m not a very good learner sometimes…

Here’s my results from last week:

Dec 1 – 7km @ 6’19” avg pace, 44:16
Dec 3 – 5.5km @ 5’39” avg pace, 31:20
Dec 5 – 1.85km

It was dark and wet on Dec 1, so my time definitely suffered since I was slipping on the sidewalks a little and I couldn’t really see very well due to my glasses being covered in mist!

I ran with the adidas Run Kru on Dec 3, thinking it was going to be a 10km run. Thank goodness it wasn’t a 10km because they run WAY faster than my usual pace! But, I did manage to break a really good time for 5km, so that’s great!

Bad news is that I suspect I sustained a micro-tear in my right leg from not stretching after that 5km and didn’t notice until Dec 5, when I started on my actual 10km run and barely made it past 1km.

I’m usually pretty in tune with my body and how it feels. Most of the the time, my brain goes, “This pain is normal, keep going,” or “You should slow down for a few minutes to readjust,” or even “Best course of action right now is to stop and stretch it out, then you should be fine.”

This time, my brain told me, “You really, REALLY should stop and go home because you are seriously going to destroy yourself if you keep going!” So, I actually listened, stopped and walked back home.

Turns out that one of my calf muscles has a micro-tear of some sort, which I found out through roll massages. It wasn’t fun, but at least my instincts were spot-on!

Rock Climbing – Dec 6

I wasn’t feeling the greatest on Dec 6th because of a party the night before and because of a suspected hops sensitivity in my lower GI. (Yes, that means I was pooping a lot.)

Top Rope – Most of the 5.9s in the gym are completely doable now, but they’re still hard to do comfortably. I even managed to get up halfway a 5.10a before calling it quits! I quickly learned that it’s more of a mental challenge after 5.9 than just a physical challenge.

At the same time, there’s a 5.9 that involves 2 walls, a directional clip and a pretty sharp incline that I just couldn’t solve. It’s really, really starting to annoy me that I can’t get through it, so I’m hoping that it won’t be replaced anytime soon!

Bouldering – Too tired/hungover to try after that difficult 5.9. Bah.

So, between the mostly-painless, slightly inflamed micro-tear in my right leg and the holiday season, I’m not gonna be running until maybe Wednesday. Even then, the Monsieur is only back for a couple days before going off on another business trip around that time, so I might only be able to squeeze in one or two runs!

Dec 9/10 – 7km @ 6’05” avg pace, 42:35
Dec 12 – 7km @6’05” avg pace, 42:35

Might as well make them count, right?

Dec 13 – Rock Climbing

My belay buddy’s leaving on the 21st, so we’re definitely climbing even if we’re hungover! (Again!)

Top Rope – I am absolutely aiming to get further up that inclining 5.9 and complete that route this time!

There’s a high chance it won’t happen, but that’s okay! I’ll have other routes to play with!

Bouldering – It’s very likely that I’ll just be focusing on top rope this time around. But if I make it to that side of the gym, I’ll be challenging the v1’s although I won’t be expecting to get anywhere beyond the more difficult v0’s.

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

