Weekly Fitness Update #10

It’s already my 10th fitness update! Woo hoo!

But, this just means that I’m getting closer to my end goal date and I’m not sure where exactly I stand anymore… I’ll take a look next week, probably.

Here’s my results from last week:

Nov 25 – 5km @ 5’56” avg pace, 29:44
Nov 27 – 6km @ 5’37” avg pace, 34:08*
Nov 28 – 10km

 

I ran 6km indoors at the track, so I’m still not sure if that’s the most accurate timing I have. It still seems a bit too fast for me, but it’s not as drastic as before!

I only did 6km because I realized earlier this week that I was starting to develop plantar fasciitis in my left foot. I’m guessing it’s due to the fact that I like to run in minimal shoes and I also like to go around everyday life in Keds, which have almost no support whatsoever.

It was getting a little annoying and risky to go further than 6km, so I cut it short and decided to wait until I got some shoes that have more of a support.

Like these that I got on Saturday!

They’re so comfortable and the pain has virtually disappeared! Yay!

Rock Climbing – Nov 29

I had 2 belay buddies this time, so it took a lot longer than usual since we had to take turns. Luckily, the auto belays were usually available!

Top Rope – Surprisingly, I didn’t touch any of the auto belays and did a LOT of 5.9 routes when I was there. It became really obvious that I still really suck at overhang routes because, as one of my belay buddies said, “it looked like [I was] walking up” a vertical 5.9 but barely got halfway up an overhanging 5.9.

I need more back and core strength!

Bouldering – Like last time, I was pretty tired once we headed into the bouldering section. It’s good to see that the new walls at the gym are well on their way!

My “new” belay buddy, who’s a friend I haven’t seen in a while, noticed that the ranking system is a LOT harder than the ones in a campus gym. It was really cool to see how he tackled the routes, though!

I’m not too busy and relatively pain-free this week, so I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to hit my mileage goal.

Dec 1 – 7km @ 6’05” avg pace, 42:35
Dec 3 – 10km @ 6’20” avg pace, 1:03:20
Dec 5 – 5km @ 5’55” avg pace, 29:35

Dec 6 – Rock Climbing?

I hope I’ll be sober enough…

Top Rope – I’ve already completed a bunch of the new 5.9 routes, but there were a couple that were really, REALLY challenging, so I’ll be doing my best to revisit them!

Depending on how I feel, I may want to challenge the 5.10a grade, too!

Bouldering – I noticed that Rock Oasis’ bouldering scale has v0’s as the equivalent to 5.8-5.10 on top rope, so that might be why I couldn’t really break the v1 barrier. Hopefully, I can get past that this time!

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

