Weekly Fitness Update – #8

It was the perfect week to rest! I could tell that I was getting a bit too burnt out since all the tendons and muscles around my knees were feeling really tense and not in the best shape. I realized mid-week that I didn’t rest much when I got sick a while ago, so that was probably a huge contributing factor!

Not to mention, the whole area was super windy and rainy last week, so it was probably the best time for me to take some rest.

Luckily, I’m feeling much better now and I’m totally ready to move around again!

Here’s my results from last week:

None! Didn’t run at all!

Rock Climbing – Nov 15

I was more than ready to get moving by Sunday but I had a pretty heavy brunch with some friends, so I wasn’t feeling as mobile as usual.

Top Rope – I was focusing more on the 5.9s this time around and, while I was comfortable tackling this grade more often, I quickly realized that I need more strength and endurance to get better!

I actually didn’t realize how quickly I got comfortable with 5.9s until I tried a 5.8 and felt how easy it was to scale.

Bouldering – I totally destroyed myself trying some ungraded top-rope routes, so I could barely do two V0s… Oops?

There were quite a few routes that weren’t graded yet, so I pretty much went all-out trying to figure out a couple of the routes that I was more or less sure what grade they were. More than likely, I tried a couple routes that were too hard for me because I got tired pretty damn quickly.

A good chunk of the bouldering walls was naked too, so I think the gym was doing a pretty big overhaul of its older routes. I’m pretty excited to see what sort of challenges will be there next week!

I’ve been itching to get back into my runners, so here’s what I’m aiming for this week:

Nov 16 – 5km @ 6’05” avg pace, 30:30
Nov 17 – 7km @ 6’05” avg pace, 42:35
Nov 19 – 10km @ 6’20” avg pace, 1:03:20

Nov 22 – Rock Climbing

This time, it might all depend on my belay buddy… I’m thinking that I’d like to do some more bouldering, so we’ll see.

Top Rope – I’m going to do my best to only tackle 5.9 routes! (Except for warm up or cool down climbing.)

Bouldering – I’m going to aim for 30% V0s and 70% V1s this time. I have no idea if I’ll be able to complete any of them, but I’ll try!

What did I do on my rest week? I started knitting a scarf for the Secret Santa on reddit and basically lounged around. It’s quite therapeutic!

xoxo,

B.elle

3 thoughts on “Weekly Fitness Update – #8

Leave a Reply

