Weekly Fitness Update – #7

I only managed to run twice this week because a work project tied me up longer than expected on Friday and the physical labour part of it really drained me on Saturday.

Here’s my results from last week:

Nov 3 – 5km @ 5’53” avg pace, 29:26
Nov 5 – 7km @ 6’15” avg pace, 43:59
Nov 7 – 10km

Look at that, I actually managed to run 5km in under 30 minutes! Another PR run!!

I was sprinting for a couple of streetlamps at a time and then slowed down to almost a walk for about the same distance for some interval training at various points in the route. I don’t really keep track where and how long I did those, aside from “it had streetlamps.”

I didn’t quite sleep too well before the 7km run, so I wasn’t feeling in my top form that day. It was still a pretty decent time, though!

I was doing so much (relatively) heavy lifting and moving things around on November 6th that my back and thighs were aching the day afterwards. In retrospect, going out for drinks that Friday night wasn’t such a great idea…

Rock Climbing – Nov 8

By this time, I realized that my left wrist and hand has a strange, dull pain, so I wrapped up in some KT Tape and decided to gauge how I felt throughout the workout.

Top Rope – Since I knew that I’m squarely in the 5.8 grade, the second route I tried was a 5.9 with a slight overhang. I almost fell when I was close to the top, but I managed to complete it on my first try! I even managed to easily climb up a very interesting 5.8 that was overhanging and required a clip in the middle of the route.

But, I tried another 5.9 and just couldn’t figure out how to reach the second hold… By that time, I was getting pretty tired so I went to the bouldering section with my belay buddy.

Bouldering – I did manage to climb a V1, even though it was pretty difficult! I didn’t quite have enough energy to tackle another V1, especially since my wrist and arm were starting to feel kind of weak and stiff.

I’m starting to get pretty good at this climbing stuff, eh?

Even though it’s already getting close to mid-November, I’m starting to feel really burnt out and not in great condition. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been over-stressing at work or if I’m just going out too much (a likely possibility), but my energy levels and enthusiasm about fitness are crashing pretty bad.

That’s why I’m taking a rest week! I think I’ll finish reading Bill Nye’s Undeniable

Nov 15 – Rock Climbing

I promised a couple of friends I’d go rock climbing with them, so I guess my

Top Rope – I’ll try tackling more 5.9s but I get the feeling half of the routes I’ll be doing will be 5.8s.

Bouldering – More V1’s! I’ll have to get better at gauging how tired I am before I go bouldering.

Ever take a rest week? I’m hoping I’m nice and refreshed after it!

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

