Weekly Fitness Update – #6

I only managed to do 2 runs last week, but that’s because I didn’t want to burn out for that race!

Here’s my results from last week:

Oct 28 – 5km @ 6’01” avg pace, 30:13
Oct 30 – 7km
Oct 31/Nov 1 – 10km @ 6’16” avg pace, 1:03:07

Guess what? IT’S A PR WEEK! I managed to break my previous Personal Record during the adidas Runmore 10K but I’ll have more details about that later in my Race Report!

I’m also super pleased with my 5km speed because that was actually the day that Toronto was hit with a pretty nasty storm but the majority of the rain had stopped by the time I got home. It was still a bit windy, but totally bearable. The only thing I didn’t like was the tiny droplets of rain that really impaired my vision.

Luckily, it gave me plenty of chances to test out the bright neon yellow running shirt and adidas Running Light, which is now my Slappy Sparkle Light. (I’ll put up a proper review later!)

I didn’t do the 7km run because I could feel like it would probably exhaust me a bit too much to perform that well at my first night race. I can barely stay awake past 11pm these days!

Rock Climbing

I spent the majority of the time keeping an eye on my coworkers, who were taking the beginner lessons so I couldn’t tackle as many routes as I usually do. But, it was still super fun!

Top Rope – I’m feeling very comfortable at 5.8s now, but the only 5.9 route that I tried out was on the auto-belay system and I couldn’t see a hold about 3/4 the way up. I had to let go, so I drifted back down and saw that the hold was on the other side of a dome… Sigh.

Bouldering – I didn’t get a chance to really get into the bouldering section like usual, but I did an overhanging V0. Next time, more overhangs!

Now that it’s November, I’ve realized that I only have about 7 weeks to reach my goal!

This week’s running goals:

Nov 3 – 5km @ 6’05” avg pace, 30:30
Nov 5 – 7km @ 6’05” avg pace, 42:35
Nov 7 – 10km @ 6’20” avg pace, 1:03:20

I know it’s technically “race pace” according to last week’s results, but it’s not actually that much faster, so I want to incorporate it into my usual pace training.

Nov 8 – Rock Climbing

Top Rope – I’ll definitely be looking into more 5.9 routes if I can squeeze in! On Thursday, a lot of people were challenging those routes, so I think it’s a common difficulty where peoples’ skills plateau.

Bouldering – V1’s? V1’s.

I still haven’t figured out a decent Weekly Fitness Update picture yet, but at least I’m half finished the adidas race report! Here’s a sneak peek photo:

Princess Hi-Visibility adidas Runmore 10K

xoxo,

B.elle

One thought on “Weekly Fitness Update – #6

  1. dezaro says:

    Amazing! I would love to do rock climbing one day but I haven’t seen something like that around here… You are really doing good and looking great! Keep it up

Leave a Reply

