Weekly Fitness Update #5

I actually managed to complete my runs! That’s always good, but I’m not sure if I can keep parkour in my fitness goals anymore… I explain below.

Here’s my results from last week:

Oct 20 – 5km @ 6’11” avg pace, 31:00
Oct 24 – 7.1km @ 6’01” avg pace, 43:07*
Oct 24 – 10km @ 6’44” avg pace, 1:07:20

It’s not exactly a PR week, but it’s not too surprising since I’m coming off of a rather nasty sickness.

I’m a little suspicious about the 7km run results because it was indoors and the shoe pod and Nike+ watch were registering some strange pace times compared to when I run outdoors. According to this Nike+ support answer, I’m getting about 90% accuracy if I use a Nike+-ready shoe and calibrate with a steady pace.

I’ve calibrated it, but I use New Balance shoes with the shoepod sensor locked into my laces, so I guess that’s why it’s a little less accurate.

My 10K run this time was SUPER hard because I actually went rock climbing on Sunday, before I went running… Trust me, I’m quite sore today and slogging through the last bit of work before I can go home!

Rock Climbing

I know I said last week that I would go do parkour instead of rock climbing, but a friend of mine lured me out by saying she wanted me to belay her. GAH!

Top Rope – I didn’t have any specific goals this week, but I stuck with a lot of 5.8s in the belay bays that were a lot more interesting than the auto-belay routes. It’s a lot more fun when there’s two walls involved, I can tell you that!

Bouldering – I didn’t bother with a lot of V0 routes because they were too easy! I did tackle quite a few V1s that were sort of challenging, but I was already getting tired by the time we hit the bouldering walls.

The adidas Runmore 10K is this weekend, so I should technically be taking it easy. But, since I run 10km regularly, I’m not terribly worried about tapering. In fact, I’m more concerned about keeping myself rested and sober for the night…

This week’s running goals:

Oct 28 – 5km @ 6’10” avg pace, 30:50
Oct 30 – 7km @ 6’10” avg pace, 42:50
Oct 31/Nov 1 – 10km race @ 6’30” avg pace or less, 1:05:00

I know it’s highly unorthodox for me to do cross training in the middle of the week, but there’s a company team building thing on Thursday that I’ll use as my workout.

Oct 29 – Rock Climbing

I’ll be helping belay the others, but I’d love to finish a 5.9 on Thursday!

I’ll have a race report on the adidas run finished next week, so YAY!

I also need to figure out a new Weekly Fitness Update picture… Bah.

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

