Weekly Fitness Update #4

Last week was an absolute FAIL… I mean, take a look at my results:

Oct 15 – 5km – Rest (still not feeling well)
Oct 17 – 10km – Rest (went to a Farmer’s Market instead, does that count?)
Oct 18 – 5km – Rest (sore throat)

I knew I was being pretty optimistic about running while recovering from the flu, but I was feeling pretty good by Friday. Too bad the weather around here decided to switch from Fall to Winter Mode within a couple of days!

I usually don’t mind running in 3C weather, especially since there’s no ice, but I could tell that my body wasn’t acclimated to that temperature range and it was still pretty worn out so I didn’t run. Instead, I went to the Evergreen Brickworks on Saturday and made some pickled beets in the afternoon.

Yay!

But I started to feel some ominous itching in my throat on Sunday morning and lost my voice by the end of the day! I’m much better today, but it’s still a bit painful to speak. A coworker was sick with some sinus-related symptoms on Friday, so I wonder if I caught something last week when I was super susceptible…

Obviously, I didn’t go to parkour, either… Ugh.

Anyway, I’m going to try my best to get back on the road this week and get my blood pumping again! It looks like it’ll be much warmer this week and I’ll hopefully be all better after today!

This week’s running goals:

Oct 20 – 5km @ 6’10” avg pace, 30:50
Oct 22 – 7km @ 6’10” avg pace, 42:50
Oct 24 or 25 – 10km

Instead of rock climbing as I had originally planned, I will get myself to the parkour gym to do last week’s goals. NO excuses this time!!

Oct 24 or 25 – Balance work, vaults, bar swing exercises

Hope I’ll be back next week with better news!

xoxo,

B.elle

3 thoughts on “Weekly Fitness Update #4

Leave a Reply

