Weekly Fitness Update #3

I tried posting last night, but the WordPress app actually deleted the whole thing! Argh!

Anyway, here’s last week’s running actual results:

Oct 7 – 5km @ 6’04” avg pace, 30:26
Oct 9 – 2km @ 6’25” avg pace, 12:53
Oct 10 – 10km @ 6’30” avg pace, 1:05:05

I’m really happy about my 5km and 10km paces and it looks like I’ve really eased into those speeds. My intended 7km run, however…

I went to the track on October 9 since I wanted to do my Thanksgiving dinner grocery shopping after running the full 7km. But, I didn’t know that a high school football game was scheduled for 6pm that day! I got to the track just before 5pm, so I had a lot of time to run, but there was a sound guy setting up some speakers on the track and the home team was already out training and moving the benches off the field. Plus, the winds were gusting around 45km/h!

So, I decided to cut my losses and left them alone.

Rock Climbing

Top Rope – I went to Rock Oasis on the 11th but I didn’t have a belay buddy so I had to stick with the auto-belays again. However, I did manage to do a lot of 5.8s with relative ease! I didn’t get a chance to get to the only 5.9 on the auto-belays but I’m starting to think that I need a more reliable belay buddy system to get better… (Like more climbing dates with the Monsieur!)

Bouldering – I did some pretty easy V0 routes at Rock Oasis, but they were mostly on straight walls instead of overhangs. I was feeling pretty tired by the time I got to the bouldering walls, though

I was feeling pretty good the next day (ie., not sore), so I took a trip to the Hub Climbing up in Markham to take a look. I didn’t know it was primarily bouldering, so that was a surprise! I mostly tackled V1s and managed to complete a handful of them! Yay! I even managed to do a couple V0s on the overhangs, too!

Do you remember how I had a chest cold last week or so? It’s sort of back but it came with friends by the names of Body Aches and Fatigue so I’m not even sure if I can even go out running this week. At the very least, it’s definitely not a wise idea to put a time goal on my runs!

This week’s running goals:

Oct 15 – 5km
Oct 17 – 10km
Oct 18 – 5km at 6’05” avg pace, 30:30

This week’s parkour goals:

Oct 17 or 18 – I’ll be lucky if I actually get to the gym. If I do, I’ll be focusing on balance work and bar swing exercises.

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

