Toronto ZooRun 10K Tomorrow!

Tomorrow’s the Toronto Zoo 10K Run and I had set a goal earlier in the summer to run the race in under 60 minutes.

I’ll be perfectly honest: It ain’t happening. Simply put, I didn’t train often or hard enough over the last few months because I’ve been extra cautious with letting my foot recover. By the time I was confident enough to run without injuring myself again, Toronto was hit with a couple of heat waves!

I did try running in 34C and again in 38C (with humidex), but I was seriously suffering at the 7.5km mark and my times were horrible. I knew that there was no way I’d be able to make my original goal, but I’m okay with it. I’m happy that I can actually participate in the run even if I’m not able to reach that goal. After all, I’d much rather make sure my foot heals properly so I can run as pain-free as possible!

But more about the Toronto Zoo Run! It’s a great course that goes through the Toronto Zoo’s exhibits so all the runners actually get to run past the animals! It also has a fundraising portion where the proceeds go directly to the Toronto Zoo’s conservation and research programs.

It’s also the run that got me into running!

So, I’m super, super excited to be running the 10K course this year instead of the 5K and I’m so amazed at how much I’ve achieved in just one year!

It’s going to be much, much cooler this weekend with a little bit of rain so it’s going to be a fantastic run. Here’s what I’m going to be using:

  • Dri-FIT tank top with Bib attached
  • Shorts
  • New Balance RC1400 shoes
  • Wireless headphones
  • Cell phone and valuable ID in SPIbelt
  • Running hat (in case it rains)

We’re allowed baggage check with a backpack, so I’ll also be packing this in preparation:

  • Change of clothes
  • Water bottle (for touring the zoo after the race!)
  • Nuun tablets
  • Extra granola bars
  • Light sweater/sweatshirt (it looks like it’ll be a bit chilly tomorrow morning at 7am)
  • Camera kit

I’m expecting to finish around 1:05 since I ran 10K on a sort of trail last Friday in 1:10 and it was much warmer. If I break that time, I’ll have a new PR!

Are you running this weekend?

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

