Happy New Year! It’s 2015! – Resolutions

Happy New Year! It’s a brand new year and there’s a lot of opportunities to look forward to!

It’s usually around this time that people make “resolutions” and most of them are given up within a month or two. One of the reasons why I hated going to gyms in January because it’s always so packed with new members trying to start the new year with a new exercise routine. (By February, it’s usually dead but it’s a lot easier to find a machine!)

I can’t really relate to most resolutions because I’ve found that most resolutions are too vague to really commit to. The most common resolutions are usually something vague like, “Lose Weight” or “Quit Smoking” or “Get Fit.” How can you commit to a goal when there’s no solid plan or direction to achieve that goal?

That’s why I’m posting my resolutions here with a (rough) outline of what I’ll do to achieve it!

1. Run a 5K in under 45mins

I’ve already been working on this one since September when I walked the Oasis Zoo 5K, so I’m well on the way to achieve that! I’m currently at running 2.5km non-stop but I go as far as 5km without completely dying.

I’m planning on registering for the Oasis Zoo 5K Run 2015 very soon, so I won’t really be able to fail this without losing a bunch of money.

Of course, I’ll have to change my eating habits to be a little more energy-dense and long-lasting for the run, so there’s the whole “healthy eating” spin on that resolution, too!

2. Completely use up at least one tube of lipstick

I have so many lipsticks that I don’t know what to do with them! It’s going to be a really hard exercise in self-control to use only one lipstick for stretches at a time, but I’ll do my best to do it!

Most likely, I’ll be sticking with my Tarte Amazonian Butter Lipstick or the relatively new Kat Von D Studded Kiss lipstick in Adora that I picked up in early December, I think. Adora’s a lovely metallic golden red, so both can be used in a lot of situations!

3. Learn French

Yeah, I’ve had French classes up to Grade 10 in high school, but it’s not like I remember anything and I can’t conjugate a sentence if my life depended on it.

I’m being surrounded by French at work and with the Monsieur, so I figure that it’s a sign that I should pick up the language!

3. Not break up with the Monsieur

We’re doing really well (in my opinion, at least), so it’s not a huge challenge, but it’s definitely one that needs a lot of work and open communication from both of us.

The communication part of this resolution is something that I know I need to work on in general, too!

This last one’s kind of vague, but it’s not like I want to break up with him in general, so it’s more of an ongoing thing.

That’s all the “resolutions” I have for 2015. Many of these resolutions need a lot of mental preparation, psychological and spirital change, and, most importantly, a willingness to embrace that change.

I hope you all have a great new year and that 2015 will be a good one!

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

