DAVIDsTEA Advent Calendar 2014 – Day 8

I haven’t been able to get pictures of the actual sample tins of the new ones, so that’s why I didn’t post yesterday. But, I did manage to get to taste some tea!

So what was for Day 8? Well, it was…

Cocomint Cream!

From the DAVIDsTEA website

Ingredients: Apple, coconut, sweet blackberry leaves, peppermint, spearmint, natural coconut flavouring*.

The colouring was very similar to most other teas, giving off a clear, dark amber colour. It was a little bit less red, but it’s nothing too crazy!

I’m actually pretty surprised that they put two coconut-based teas only a day apart in the Advent Calendar. I’m not the most familiar with DAVIDsTEA’s selections, so maybe they have a lot of coconut-based teas in general?

The tea’s balance is pretty nice! I could taste all of the different flavours separately, but there was a little bitterness in the background from the boiling water that I used. I think the blackberry leaves got a bit burnt! (Oops. It turns out that I’m a pretty terrible tea maker!)

Cocomint Cream’s texture reminds me of Coco Chai Rooibos where the coconut oils are pretty obvious, but I feel like Cocomint’s profile is more balanced since mint cuts the richness from the coconut.

I’m starting to realize that I prefer spiced or “savoury” teas over the fruitier ones… Hmmmm.

I’ll also update the post with proper pictures once my nose stops leaking bodily fluids.

I wonder what’s in store for Day 9!

xoxo,

B.elle

One thought on “DAVIDsTEA Advent Calendar 2014 – Day 8

Leave a Reply

