DAVIDsTEA Advent Calendar 2014 – Day 7

I actually had this one earlier in the day so I wouldn’t get super wired and not be able to sleep again. I’ve definitely learned that higher levels of caffeine is not a good idea after 5pm for me!

Anyway, let’s take a look at Day 7!

English Breakfast!

Ingredients: Sri Lankan black tea.

You really can’t mess around with something as classy and simple as some pekoe black tea leaves from Sri Lanka.

It ends up being a nice darker reddish brown that actually doesn’t get too dark even while oversteeping by a few minutes. From my experience, black teas tend to get really, really dark but this one stays relatively light.

DAVIDsTEA’s version of English Breakfast has some subtle notes of fruit on the nose, but not a lot of smokiness that I associate black teas with. It tastes pretty similar to how it smells, too! It’s quite mild in flavour for a black tea, but it has the characteristic astringency that’s a lot stronger than greens or whites.

I’m still a little behind on my calendar! Bear with me, but at least there’s multiple posts, huh? 😉

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

