Thompson Diner

It’s actually surprisingly hard to find a 24-hour diner in Toronto. Mind you, I’m not exactly on the active lookout for one, but it’s always something convenient to know in a city where anything can happen.

Fran’s is usually the first one that comes to a Torontonian’s mind when someone asks for a 24-hour diner and, if you’re following me on Instagram, you’ll know that I paid them a visit a while ago for some really delicious meatloaf!

But, I’ve noticed another 24-hour spot in downtown called the Thompson Diner, located at 550 Wellington Street West.

Thompson Diner

An Upscale Diner, as they say

I was leaving the Monsieur’s place one day after he had left for a climbing trip and figured that I’d try to get some brunch before meeting up with Chris for an afternoon run. I had to get something delicious and filling to sustain me!

Thompson Diner

I sat down around 11:30am on a Sunday, so they were luckily serving both breakfast and brunch menus.

I ordered their Breakfast Eggs Benedict with Home Fries and I was not disappointed!

Thompson Diner Eggs Benedict

 

It was a little expensive for some Eggs Benedict ($12), but they definitely serve some high-quality food here. The eggs were perfectly poached and the yolks rolled out so delicately and silky smooth. The home fries were crisp, well seasoned and extremely soft and absolutely mouth-watering.

I’m not too sure when’s the next time I’ll go back, but I’m looking forward to getting some of that poutine…

PS – It definitely wasn’t the smartest pre-workout breakfast…

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

