Lunch with an Oreo Donut

I never thought I could do such a good impersonation of Usagi from Sailor Moon in the morning until today. Somehow, the alarm turned off and I woke up at about 9:10am when work starts at 9:00am. FUUUUUUUUUU…

Anyway, it’s a small company and my colleague completely understood, so everything turned out okay. But, it left me with a problem: I didn’t have a lunch. What to do?

Tim Horton’s to the rescue!

Tim Horton's Lunch

I know, I know, it’s so lame compared to the fantastic sandwich from Bukamaranga I posted before! But, there’s almost nothing affordable for lunch in this area except for Tim Horton’s and Subway and I knew that the new Oreo donut had just been released.

The Oreo donut has a chocolate dough base and topped with white icing and Oreo crumbles, then further drizzled with more white icing and filled with sweetened cream.

My first impression was that it’s so super sweet because it’s sugar on sugar and then stuffed with more sugar! I’ve had some pretty awesome donuts before, but I don’t think this is it.

However, the donut was really stuffed with the creme filling and, even though it got a little mangled on the way back to the office, it was nicely presented.

The big question is: Does it taste like an Oreo in donut form?

For me? Not really. Oreos are made with cocoa, so the bitterness of the chocolate flavour should balance the sweetness of the icing sugar inside the cookie. That’s one of the reasons why Oreos taste so good! But, the donut doesn’t have a lot – if any – of the cocoa bitterness that Oreo cookies have.

As far as nutrition goes and how well it fits into an active lifestyle? It doesn’t. But, always keep in mind that you have to work with what you have sometimes! (In this case, I balanced it with an extra serving of cursing the storm.)

It’s still a neat donut to try out if you like Oreos, but keep in mind that it costs a bit extra compared to their normal selections. My meal came up to be a bit higher than usual at around $7.15, but that was fine for me today.

Eventually, I’ll get around to trying their Oreo Iced Capp. Eventually.

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

