Topbox – June 2014

Last week was crazy at work and this week is less so, but not as calm as I’d like! At least I got to go to a fancy gala event where there was really good food and discovered that Rockport’s heels are really comfortable for fancy nights.

It was so busy that it was kind of a surprise when I got home that my Topbox was waiting for me on the table! Of course, since I got home at around midnight, I had to wait until today.

What is it?

Topbox is a Canadian monthly beauty box subscription that features 4 deluxe samples for $12 per month, shipped right to your door via Canada Post. Some months even include full sized products! Keep in mind that they do have a waitlist of about 2-3 months from initial sign-up before you start your subscription!

Let’s see what’s in the June Topbox!

This looks like a pretty decent box! For once, the full sized versions of the products in the box are actually kind of affordable and they’re things I’d use pretty much every day or regularly, which is really nice to see. I’m not complaining about getting deluxe samples of high-end luxury brand cosmetics, but I just don’t use them as often.

China Glaze in Wait N’ Sea – $10-12 for 14mL, full sized

I think this makes the third nail polish that I’ve received from Topbox. But, this one’s from China Glaze and it used to be the most hyped up brand back in my high school days, so I’m looking forward to seeing how the brand is now.

I thought it looked kind of similar to the LA Splash nail polish that I got a few months ago, but it’s clearly a lot lighter! Perfect for the summer!

Topbox June 2014

La Roche-Posay’s Anthelios XL Lightweight Lotion SPF 60 (3mL sample = $0.84) – 100mL for $28 at London Drugs

This sample is TINY! I may just use it on my face tomorrow because there is absolutely NO way that 3mL of sunscreen can cover anything besides my face or one of my hands.

The little bit that I managed to squeeze out to try on the back of my hand is pretty thick at first, but went on like silk and it wasn’toily or filmy. There’s some hope for this sunscreen!

Vasanti Cosmetics’ BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator (20g = $5.67 sample) – 120g for $34

This is a nice sized sample for a face cleanser!

It’s actually pretty grainy but the particles are pretty fine compared to other microbeads in the market. I’m worried that the sheer amount of particles would be too aggressive in the long run, though.

On the plus side, it smells pretty!

Bioderma’s Atoderm Moisturising Stick – 4g for $6.95 Full Sized!

It smells like raspberries! It really does!

I don’t really like the way they have the mouth slanted inside because I tend to twist my lipsticks and chapsticks with one hand. When I do it with this, the whole thing twirls around like a madman on a carousel and it’s kind of weird trying to turn it around so I can put it on!

The balm is actually VERY moisturizing, but it tends to sit on my lips like a layer of wax instead of something like EOS where you can practically feel the balm seep into your lips in a good way.

But, it’s not oily or feel like it’s melting off my lips like some other lip balms, so it’s a win!

Verdict: 3.5/5 – Third nail polish in a row and the La Roche-Posay sample is really too tiny for an effective sunscreen sample. It’s not Topbox’s fault, but it does leave you wanting a little more.

Did you get the June Topbox? What did you think of it?

xoxo,

B.elle

2 thoughts on “Topbox – June 2014

    • B.elle says:

      Hi Jessica! It’s pretty good to know that there’s a bit more variation in the boxes now. Did you try the shower gel yet?

Leave a Reply

