Bounce Energy Ball – Peanut Protein Blast

I brought this to work with me because I knew I was going to have a late lunch and I was going to need a mid-morning snack.

Bounce Energy Ball Peanut Protein Blast

Bounce Energy Ball in Peanut Protein Blast – $2.69 at Whole Foods (49g per ball)

Ingredients:

Peanuts (29%), Brown Rice Syrup, Fruitrim®(Fruit Juices, Natural Grain Dextrins), Whey Protein Blend (19%) (Whey Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Concentrate, Whey Protein Hydrolysate), Whey Protein Crisps (12%) (Whey Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Concentrate, Tapioca Starch, Stabiliser (Calcium Carbonate), Emulsifier (Sunflower Lecithin)), Natural Vanilla Flavour, Sea Salt, Mixed Tocopherols.

When I opened it up, I was pleasantly surprised that it was covered in peanut chunks! It’s a nice change from the chocolate covered bars that I’ve had so far.

But, when I was about to take a bite, I was hit with a strong scent of something that I still have no idea what it is, and that surprised me because it wasn’t sweet-smelling at all. I was surprised since it lists a fruit juice based product as the third ingredient!

It’s not sweet at all and it’s pretty dense for an energy bar. You definitely can’t take a big bite of this without wanting to gag because the mixture of peanuts, brown rice syrup, tapioca starch and proteins really keeps everything tightly bound together in your palate.

I normally don’t have a sweet tooth, but this energy ball really needs some more sweetness or another layer of flavour somehow! Somehow, it’s really bland and I think it might be because it’s primarily made out of plant proteins with almost no variations in sugar and fat, which are two primary contributors to flavour.

At 49g per ball, it’s pretty hard to finish this on a run without feeling really gross! It’s a lot of dense peanut butter to eat!

It does manage to provide a steady stream of energy without making you crave more food to top you up, though. I feel like this is better for people who do shorter, high-intensity workouts, somehow. Maybe it’s because it feels marketed more towards the “hot yoga at lunch before going back to the office” type of crowd. (People still do hot yoga, right?)

Verdict: 1.5/5 – It’s obviously well received around the world, but it just reminds me of an edible peanut-flavoured hockey puck. It works really well to keep your energy levels up for a bit, but it’s just too bland and too dense for me to buy it again. Sorry, Bounce!

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

