Energy Bars

I usually end up doing some ridiculously high-intensity workout at the Monkey Vault that involves acrobatics, leaping and climbing, but I also usually end up not eating too much afterwards. That lead me to consider taking up energy bars! But, I have a secret…

I don’t know which ones are good!

I know, it’s crazy! I think this is probably because I once tried energy/protein bars about 6 years ago and they were bland and gritty. Then, I did some product testing a couple years after on another brand and it was blindingly sweet and still gritty! So, I don’t have a very good opinion of energy bars based on my experiences.

But, I recently did some demos at Whole Foods and I discovered their vast selection of energy bars and took a look.

I ended up buying 5 peanut butter energy bars from different brands to see which one I liked best. Why the peanut flavour? Because I love peanuts!

(Note: I know that peanuts contain some protein in them, but I also know that smart companies will use a “base formula/component” in a product line. In the case of energy bars, the majority of them rely on the protein supplements in their bases to try to meet their health claims, not the peanuts.)

I’ll be trying and reviewing these bars in no particular order:

  • Vega Sport Protein Bar – Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Bounce Energy Balls – Peanut Protein Blast
  • LARABAR ALT Bar – Peanut Butter
  • Clif Bar – Crunchy Peanut Butter
  • SoLo GI Bar – Peanut Power

Stay tuned and see what happens!

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

