Topbox – May 2014

I didn’t sleep well AT ALL last night because of a minor nightmare/panic attack about one of my product trials, so seeing my Topbox nestled between my doors was a welcoming sign!

Also, happy Victoria Day weekend (aka, May 2-4 long weekend!).

What is it?

Topbox is a Canadian monthly beauty box subscription that features 4 deluxe samples for $12 per month, shipped right to your door via Canada Post. Some months even include full sized products! Keep in mind that they do have a waitlist of about 2-3 months from initial sign-up before you start your subscription!

Topbox May 2014

In honour of Earth Month, Topbox announced that they’ll be switching the regular cardboard tubes for an organza bag and donating the difference to the [World Wildlife Fund] for the May Topbox. Considering the enthusiastic response on their Facebook page, I wonder if they’ll make a change soon?

Topbox May 2014

Kinetics Nail Colour in Splatter It! – $9 for 15mL, full sized

More nail polish! I’m going to have to start planning an organization system for my collection!

I have a similar colour to this from Sephora X and I LOVE playing with effect coats! It’ll be interesting to see how it holds up compared to Sephora’s brand especially since it looks like a relatively new brand, too.

Lancome Paris’s Hypnose Doll Lashes in 01 So Black! (4mL = $19.38 sample) – $31.50 for 6.5mL

Holy heifer, this is a big sample even for a deluxe size! This particular mascara’s also a new product from Lancome and it’s always exciting to try the newest line, you know? The wand looks really user-friendly, too!

I heard that Lancome has really great mascara formulas and I’m actually very interested to try this one on and compare it to my current favourite, Bourjois Paris’ Volume Glamour Max mascara.

(I’m starting to see a trend here with the May Topbox and my current makeup inventory!)

Topbox May 2014

Elizabeth Arden’s Visible Difference Skin Balancing Lotion SPF15 for Combination Skin (5mL = $4.80 sample) – 50mL for $48

Okay, I don’t have a dedicated “skin balancing lotion” that also has SPF in it. Definitely no repeat for this one!

It actually has instructions in the box! No more guessing for me! According to the sheet, you “smooth onto cleansed face and throat before sun exposure” and “it leaves skin looking healthy and balanced with a radiant appearance.”

So… It’s a moisturizing toner with some sun protection. Right on, I can get behind this.

I love how the sample has a little pump, but I kinda feel like that’s overkill for a little teaspoon of face cream. It took a dozen pumps, but when I finally got some out, the lotion’s actually pretty runny! At least it doesn’t have that characteristic sunscreen smell, but that’s probably because it’s only SPF15.

It really is super light on the face, too. Good job, Elizabeth Arden!

Benefit Cosmetics’ Posiebalm – Hydrating Tinted Lip Balm (0.5g = $3.67 sample) – 3g for $22

BENEFIT! I absolutely adore this brand and this is one of their absolute newest products that I have been dying to try! I love lip balm, but it always makes lipstick so hard to put on afterwards, so I’ve been hoping for a decent lip tint that works well but won’t break the bank.

Interestingly enough, the shade is similar to the Tarte Amazonian Butter Lipstick in Coral Blossom that I already have but it’s way more sheer and a bit more pink than coral. They’re both so moisturizing, too!

Topbox May 2014

BONUS! Lancome Paris’ Empty Sample Jar

That sounds GREAT, doesn’t it? But, the box/bag came with a card that you can redeem at a Lancome counter at any Bay to get a 10-day supply of one of their foundations in your ideal shade.

I don’t think I’m going to redeem this because I already have a foundation from bareminerals that I don’t react to and I’m not even a quarter of the way through.

But, I can see how this might be better than sending out foundation samples because you’re not guaranteed to get a matching shade! There’s almost no point!

Verdict: 4/5 – It’s the second month in a row that I’ve gotten nail polish, which is a little meh even if it’s a completely different shade. But, I’m definitely going to be using the mascara and Posiebalm and the quality is phenomenal! What a great box!

Did you get the May Topbox? What did you think of it?

xoxo,

B.elle

2 thoughts on “Topbox – May 2014

  1. Lillian says:

    I got the same as you, except instead of the mascara, I was thrilled to get a 50 ml (full size) SPF 30 Face Sunscreen Lotion from Miracle 10 (a $38 value). I guess the only negative is that I essentially got the same product from Elizabeth Arden, and a much smaller size at only 5 ml. I think that Topbox should be trying for a variety of types of products within each box.

    • B.elle says:

      Lucky! I’ve heard such amazing things about Miracle10 and the SPF on yours is so high! My EA sample was 5mL as well, but the packaging makes it seem so much bigger, like my Posiebalm.

      x, B.elle

Leave a Reply

