Topbox – April 2014

I got my April Topbox on the 15th, right after they went out the previous evening! Talk about quick service! Can’t say the same for me, though… Better late than never, right?

What is it?

Topbox is a Canadian monthly beauty box subscription that features 4 deluxe samples for $12 per month, shipped right to your door via Canada Post. Some months even include full sized products! Keep in mind that they do have a waitlist of about 2-3 months from initial sign-up before you start your subscription!

Here’s what I got in my box.

Topbox April 2014

I love how it’s a nice assortment of colour cosmetics and skin cleansing/treatment products! It’s also a pretty good bonus that I’ve never heard of any of these brands, too!

Topbox April 2014

Pur~lisse Pur~Moist Hydra-Balance Moisturizer (15mL = $16.50 sample) – $55 for 50mL

This is a face moisturizer to put on after cleansing and toning. The card also says that it can be used as a face primer!

It says it’s for normal to dry, sensitive to anti-aging skin? I’m not overly familiar with face products, but what the hell does that mean?! My best guess is that they’re saying it’s for every skin type besides oily and acne-prone. (That sounds about right, right?)

Pur-lisse Pur-Most Hydra Balance Moisturizer

I do like how it’s been sealed off to prevent contamination and leakage during transport! I remember hearing about the So Susan product Topbox had sent out a while ago and how several of them got to people completely broken or smelling strange or both!

This one actually smells really nice with some woody and floral notes, and it goes on pretty smoothly. It seems to moisturize pretty well, but it might be too heavy for the heavier areas for combination types… which now makes sense if it’s for normal-dry skin.

I already have a dedicated face wash system, but this is a pretty good product!

Sweet Pea Soap Co.’s French Green Clay Soap ($3 sample?) – $5.95 each full sized

Ingredients: Coconut oil, olive oil, palm oil, castor oil, distilled water, sodium hydroxide, French green clay, green tea and liquorice root extract, matcha powder and peppermint essential oil.

Before I even opened the tube, I was wondering what that herbal, fresh-y kind of smell was and it was this! It’s made with natural ingredients, including French green kaolin clay, green tea and licorice root extract.

When I found out that there’s licorice root extract, I immediately knew that it was the main culprit of that particular scent! I don’t really like how licorice smells and I would almost describe the smell as medicinal, but I will say that I came home after a full day of experimenting with flavours and fragrances, so I may have been negatively biased with the soap’s smell.

According to Sweet Pea’s website, it’s meant to clean the face. But, I tried it on my hands and it’s pretty good if you have sensitive skin! It doesn’t leave any strange residue or “squeakiness” that harsher soaps can leave behind. Also, it ends up being kind of moisturizing, too!

Topbox April 2014

LA Splash Nail Polish in Curfew – $7.50 Full sized

I do prefer more subdued colours to wear on my nails because my skintone doesn’t get along with a lot of shades, so this is actually pretty good for me! I think I actually own a denim jacket in this teal colour, too.

It goes on pretty nicely and, once doubled up, it’s very even and opaque. Let’s hope that it doesn’t chip too quickly like some others I’ve tried!

The only thing that bugs me is that it seems like a lower-end brand compared to other luxury that Topbox has featured like Elizabeth Arden and GlamGlow. But, I’m not REALLY complaining since it’s a full sized nail polish!

BH Cosmetics Eyeshadow Trio in California Collection (1.5g sample each?) – $18.95 each

I heard that this particular sample’s been making the rounds in all the beauty boxes, but since I only subscribe to Topbox, this is a first for me!

At first glance, I do like the colours! They’re bright and summery and I love using bright colours as accents for my everyday looks when I have time in the morning to play around with eyeshadow.

BH Cosmetics California Collection Palette

The payoff isn’t the best, even with some primer underneath, which is pretty unfortunate. I will probably end up using the brown and gold most often as subtle accents, though.

BH Cosmetics California Collection Palette

Would I buy one of them for $18.95? HELL NO.

Verdict: 3.5/5 – I really like the soap, nail polish and moisturizer, but I’m disappointed in the eyeshadow trio! I know it’s not Topbox’s fault at all, but the quality really isn’t good.

What did you think of the April Topbox? Are you looking forward to May’s? I know I am!

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

