Parkour Clothes – A little advice

Okay, so the TIFF movie reviews are taking longer than I thought it would… In the meantime, look at what I got today!

Training Pants

 

New training pants!

Last week, I went to my parkour lesson and I, for some strange, strange reason, decided to wear some casual khaki capris. It was raining and kind of cool, so I figured why not wear these non-denim pants and go training in them.

Turns out, that it was a pretty stupid idea for a female parkour-er.

I don’t know if you’ve noticed this or not, but women’s pants tend to be a little tighter than men’s around the hips. Can you guess what needs the most range of motion in parkour? THE HIPS.

I tried to jump onto a vault without using my hands, but because I’m still kind of inexperienced with jumping that high and because I quickly found out that I couldn’t lift my leg up high enough for me to get the height I needed because my pants were too tight around my hips and upper thighs.

I won’t tell you how badly I wiped out on the gym mat. (At least I didn’t smash my face into the vault in front of me, I’ll tell you that much!)

Anyway, my parkour tip for today: Wear VERY comfortable and NON-RESTRICTING clothes. Ladies, invest in a good pair of training pants, shorts and a sports bra that’ll lock those girls in! And, don’t be a smartass and think that you can get away with mainstream casual wear. It’ll come back to bite you in the butt. (Or worse. My shin will tell you about it.)

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

