Victrola Coffee Roasters – Ethiopia Yirgacheffe Kochere

Crazy past 2 weeks around here. The washroom’s pipes are leaking, so we have to get that fixed. There’s heavy construction on the major street a block away from me that starts before 7am. Then Toronto undergoes a flash flood that drowns the majority of downtown. Luckily, I was spared from any flooding and I didn’t lose any power!

Now that it’s calmed down a bit, I finally have a chance to catch up on some coffee tasting!

Today, we’re taking a look at Victrola Coffee Roasters’ Yirgacheffe Kochere from Ethiopia.

Victrola Coffee Roasters Yirgacheffe Kochere

As you can tell, the most prominent flavour profiles are Jasmine, Tea-Like and Delicate.

I drank this while eating lunch, so my palate might be a little muddled for coffee tasting, so take  my advice with a little grain of salt. But, I tasted my coffee before I ate anything and before I added any sugar or milk and I was immediately reminded of a nice floral cup of oolong tea during a dimsum lunch!

Then I thought to myself, “if I was given this coffee blindfolded, would I think it was a tea-flavoured coffee or just a really bad tea?” After thinking about it for a few moments, I’m pretty sure I’d probably think it’s a pretty nasty tasting tea.

Why would I think it’s a bad tea instead of gourmet coffee? It’s because this particular roast actually carries a fair amount of astringency, which is a texture that’s characteristic of tea and coffee. But, it doesn’t have the same amount as a good, strong tea!

After I added my regular amount of sugar and milk, the tea-like flavour profile still remains but the distinct coffee notes come out a lot more. In my opinion, that’s a good thing and it does remind me a bit of the Hong Kong-style yin-yan beverage that’s a mix of coffee and black tea. (And gets you more wired than a UofT student on their last exam of the season.)

It’s also a tad bit too delicate for my tastes, but that could also be due to staleness.

Verdict: Although I do like the flavour combination of tea and coffee, it’s not a combination that I’d want to have on a regular basis. Plus, it’s something that I can readily make at home with added caffeine for an extra kick.

Want to try some new coffees? Check out Mistobox.com for monthly boxes that do ship to Canada!

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

