The WestBean Coffee Roasters – El Salvador La Granadilla

I really have to get through these coffee samples. It’s been about a month since they were roasted and I can actually tell the difference in flavour at this point!

Today, I sampled The WestBean Coffee Roasters’ La Granadilla from El Salvador.

WestBean Coffee Roasters La Granadilla

The little blurb in my MistoBox card says that there’s “subtle hints of apricot and lemon zest with a delightful acidity on the palate, transitioning to a mildly spiced, dark chocolate full body finish.” When I first took a sip without any sugar or milk, I could only taste the deep, dark chocolate and cocoa flavours and a TINY hint of the apricot.

After I added in a bit of sugar and milk (I can’t drink black coffee or else I gag horribly!), the acidity notes came out a bit better in contrast to my milk but I still couldn’t taste any of the lemon zest that was mentioned in the blurb. Of course, lemon zest and its flavours are extremely easy to lose to staleness in all forms, so I’m not too surprised.

When the coffee’s hot, it has a certain energy and depth to its flavour profile that is really enjoyable on its own without anything paired to it. For the lack of a better phrase, it’s what Starbucks coffee should taste like instead of what it is right now. But, once the cup cools, it loses a LOT of its strength and it turns into a pretty average cup of coffee.

That being said, the combination of dark chocolate and its dynamic strength is very, VERY delicious.

Verdict: Although I do really enjoy the cocoa notes in WestBean’s La Granadilla, I don’t think I’d buy it. It could very well be because it’s gone stale, but it’s not as flavourful as other coffee beans that I’ve tried from the box!

The WestBean Coffee Roasters don’t seem to carry La Granadilla anymore, but if you’re interested in getting a bag, grab one here at MistoBox.com!

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

