Monoprice Enhanced Bass Hi-Fi Bass Noise Isolating Earphones

There comes a time in everyone’s life where they have to replace their earphones and it’s always best to do some research on what sort of earphones you’d like and which ones have the best bang for your buck.

For  me, that time comes every year. I have a tendency to break my earbuds at least once a year usually because of my stupid carelessness. (I once shot one earbud out of my ear because my arrow fletching got caught on the wire. Never shoot with earbuds on.)

This time, my earbuds broke on me all on their own! Too bad it’s only been about 6 months! UGH.

Since I have this habit of breaking my earbuds, my preferences are simple: good sound, super cheap price. That’s when I found these beauties…

With my old earbuds to compare! You can even see how the wire's been worn away at the jack.

With my old earbuds to compare! You can even see how the wire’s been worn away at the jack.

Monoprice Enhanced Bass Hi-Fi Bass Noise Isolating Earphones!

I found them through some quick googling and reviews were stellar. About $10USD for a pair, cloth cords, noise isolation, superior sound quality and basically in-your-skull surround sound. How can I resist?

Once I got them in the mail through Amazon.ca (for $15CAD), I was super eager to test them out and I was so disappointed at first. The sound was tinny and I couldn’t get enough bass, but I figured I’d try a full day with them since I like to listen to music on the subway but I found that they didn’t even cancel out enough noise to make it worthwhile.

I was halfway to work when I realized that the plastic parts of the earbuds were WAY too small for my ears! Of course the sound would be terrible and everything would be noisy!

The problem was that I lost the spare set that came with the box. (I suspect they fell through a rift into a separate dimension since I still have everything else in the packaging.) What did I do?

Franken-buds, as I call them now. Or my hybrid-earbuds.

Franken-buds, as I call them now. Or my hybrid-earbuds.

Why not, right? The previous pair fit perfectly, so I figured it’d work.

And boy, did it do wonders! The sound that came out had such depth and bass that rivals the earmuff-like earphones that go for wayyyyy more than $15.

They’re not perfect by any definition, but for $15, they are one of the best that you can buy.

Just make sure you wear them right!

Wear them like so and enjoy!

Wear them like so and enjoy!

Monoprice Enhanced Bass Hi-Fi Noise Isolating Earphones

Specifications:

Model Number: MEP-933
Driver unit: 14.2mm
Impedance: 32Ω
Sensitivity: 96+/-3dB / 1mW (S.P. L at 1kHz)
Frequency response: 20Hz – 20kHz
Wire length: 1225mm

Verdict: If you want a spare pair of earbuds or you’re in the market for a high-quality, inexpensive pair, get the Monoprice MEP-933’s!

If you want to pick up a pair, Amazon.ca has it for about $15 (with free shipping over $25 on your order and pretty fast shipping by UPS). Monoprice.com has it for $7.57USD? with some $3.83 shipping charge for a grand total of $11.40 and shipped by Canada Post, but it looks like it’d take at least a couple weeks to get to your door.

xoxo,

B.elle

Leave a Reply

